Presentation of Memorial Lectern

The lectern in memory of teacher Miss Surtees, who taught at the School from 1929-30, was presented to Queen Street Methodist Central Hall at the morning service on Sunday July 13th. Lynne Reed made a short speech, and was accompanied by Pam Elliott and Denise Warley. Many thanks to Lynne, and to Denise for cleaning the lectern and polishing the plaque. The lectern will be used in the church meeting rooms. 

Annual General Meeting

29 members and 1 guest enjoyed lunch at the Britannia Royal Hotel Scarborough after the AGM on May 17th. Margery Raper won the draw for a free lunch.

Members agreed the proposal: "When the Association folds, remaining general funds will be passed on to Scarborough Amicable Society if it is still in existence. Otherwise the money will be passed to another Scarborough and District educational charity". At the next AGM there will be a proposal dealing with Glauert Prize funds.

The next AGM will take place on Saturday May 9th 2015.

Quiz results

A quiz,on ‘Famous women, real and fictional’ was sold at the AGM. Three people sent back sheets with all the answers correct: Maureen Ille (Westmoreland 1954-61), Susan Inchbald (1969-73) and Muriel Willis (Rogers 1945-51). Maureen’s name was drawn as the winner of £10. A donation of £22, the profit from the quiz, has been sent to the charity Headway (Hull and East Riding branch) in memory of member Jean Gillbanks (Lesley 1939-45) who died last year. Jean helped to establish the Hull group.

Web site news

Maureen Ille looks after the web site at

Recently, Maureen has added a fascinating new section on ‘School History and archives’. Here you will find articles on the history of the School previously published in the Scarborough local newspaper, copies of School log books and magazines, and records of our predecessor the Old Girls’ Club. These documents are being scanned before being placed in the North Yorkshire County Archives, in order to be available to a wider audience.

If you do not have access to a computer, why not ask friends and relatives who are ‘on line’ to show you the site.

Surplus School Magazines

£28 from the sale of surplus magazines has been donated to Scarborough Amicable Society, a charity founded in 1729, which provides money for clothing, and other assistance, to needy children in the Scarborough area.

Plea: the magazines for 1920 and 1922 sold at the AGM, which were thought to be duplicates, were in fact the only copies.  If you have these magazines please contact the Secretary so that they can be scanned by Maureen.


There are 132 members on the list.

Since the last newsletter we have been notified of the deaths of former pupils:

Isabel Lazenby (Lister) who attended the School in the 1940s

Ann Pennock (Rook, 1945-51)

Rita Slater (Tetlow, 1951-56)

Dorothy Whitehead (Atkinson, staff 1966-73)

Committee update

Many thanks to June Dent (Barnes) and Margaret Shaw (Willis) who have stepped down from the Committee after their current three year term. This means that there are two vacancies on the Committee. We would also like to have a Publicity Officer and a Social Secretary so that events can be organised. Mary Barry has announced that she will be standing down as Secretary at the next AGM.

If you would like to offer your services to the Committee for any of these positions, please contact the Secretary. There are usually only two Committee meetings a year, one in February/March and one after the AGM.

Your Committee

President from 2009

Mrs Pamela Elliott (Thompson)

29 Porritt Lane, Irton

Scarborough YO12 4RL

(01723) 862263


Elected 2012

Mrs Denise Warley (Lancaster)

26 Prospect Mount Road

Scarborough YO12 6EN


Assistant Chairlady

Elected 2012

Mrs Margery Raper (Caisley)

10 Tibby Butts, Scalby, 

Scarborough YO13 6RF 

(01723) 364018


Elected 2012

Mrs Mary Barry 


10 Seafield Avenue, Osgodby

Scarborough YO11 3QG

(01723) 584758


Re-elected 2012

Mrs Anne Davidson (Hullock)

5 Welborn Court, Flixton

Scarborough YO11 3XA

(01723) 891858

Committee Member

Re-elected 2012

Mrs Joyce Perry 


81 Garth End Road, West Ayton

Scarborough. YO13 9JJ

(01723) 863922

Committee Member

Elected 2011

Dr Maureen Ille (Westmoreland)

6 Malkinson Close, Winterton 

DN15 9TJ

(01724) 733067

Committee Member

Re-elected 2012

Mrs Freda Ward 


65 Manor Road, Scarborough

YO12 7RT

(01723) 374761

Committee Member

Re-elected 2012

Mrs Marion Shanks


15 Lady Edith’s Park, Newby

Scarborough YO12 5PB

(01723) 367729

Committee Member

Elected 2013

Judith Appleby

282 Scalby Road, Newby

Scarborough YO12 6EA

(01723) 374950

Committee Member

Elected 2013

Sue Mitchell 


15 Greenway Croft, Wirksworth, Matlock DE4 4PB